Airbnb: Remembering my guests

It’s been almost four years since I began hosting guests at my apartment through Airbnb! Now amidst all the controversy with the city and their mission to control home sharing, there is a chance I won’t be able to continue hosting. The Mayor wants to pass a law that would require all hosts to have a business license. Since most residential neighborhoods are not zoned for business, only a tiny percentage of hosts could obtain this license. I could go on and on about how silly this is in regards to people like me, sharing my kitchen bathroom etc. with these people. They are my roommates, it’s not big business and I’m not making a million dollars.

That said, I’ve been reminiscing about all the amazing people that have stayed with me these past years and I think it’s time to tell their stories. Most of my guests have stayed with me for between 1 and 3 months so I had the chance to get to know many of them quite well. Still, some of the shorter visits of 2-7 days led to some very special connections. These people walk into my house as strangers and they leave as friends. Some of them invite me to come stay with them at their homes. It’s been amazing and I wish I had documented each person from the beginning but better late than never. So here it goes. My next posts will be devoted to their stories!

3 Responses to “Airbnb: Remembering my guests”


  1. 1 Barbara June 10, 2016 at 5:50 pm

    As I am just now a guest in an airbnb place in Southern Sweden (it’s my 6th on this trip alone) I feel an urge to comment: I’m shocked to hear that home sharing is to be controlled in your city. It’s been a precious experience wherever I went and you learn so much more about the country and the people. Keeping my fingers crossed that you can continue to host and looking forward to reading about your guests.

    • 2 theunmetfriend June 10, 2016 at 6:18 pm

      Hi Barbara,
      Thanks for sharing! Airbnb truly is a beautiful thing.There is still hope and every thing is still being negotiated so please send some positive energy towards Chicago 🙂 Thanks again for reading!

    • 3 empathy75 June 21, 2016 at 7:03 pm

      Home sharing with foreigners has been never allowed in my country more than 50 years ago. Thats why Burma cannot have home stay and hotels prices are sky high.
      Its because government did not like locals associate with foreigners and they thought them as journalists under cover who might write bad things about government. Don’t worry. When you come, I will hide you in my house Barbara


Leave a Reply

