Daffenjäger

DSC_0009

My friend Una is the kind of gal that will always brings flowers to my house for breakfast, lunch or dinner. A former roommate of 5 years she now lives in Switzerland but still makes it back to Chicago for periodic visits. She is a modern woman with an old-fashioned sensibility. World traveler, sailor, swing dancer, occasional church lady, baker of lemons scones and purveyor of legendary jello shots, I’ve alway had the impression she was a 1950’s reincarnate…well except for the jello shots and a few other things!   When she walked into my apartment with the bouquet of daffodils, I got that feeling of old times, like a song reminiscent. Sadly, few flowers are crossing my doorstep these days. They were actually all stems and buds which she assured me were ready to bloom full throttled. Una knows. The next day they were a gang of yellow beauty queens proudly posing!

These flowers scored a place of honor in the dining room on an antique wooden pedestal and they graced the place for more than a week. Moving through my house I knew they were there but forgot about the added bonus of scent. At first, I would pass them, busy or deep in thought and get a whiff, wondering what it was but even more, thinking it reminded me of something specific and disconnected from anything that could be in that room. After a few times I finally snapped into consciousness and realized, “Oh, it’s the Daffodils” but that was not the  product of my déjà vu. Hmmmmmm.  Finally, after one or two more walk-by’s I had total recall.  It was:

DSC_0007

 

Really. Bärenjäger is a honey and bourbon liquor that makes me swoon with every sip. It’s true. Ask anyone that has watched me drink it! Although I have it in a shot glass, it is not a substance to be swilled but savored. In the world of sweet alcohol it is gourmet, like Godiva vs. Hershey. The aftermath of a swig leaves the perfume of honey dancing in nostrils, just like daffodils.  Now there’s two unlikely twins for you! Bärenjäger is made in Germany so Una is close to the source but if not there, we’ll have to make a plan for a sniff and taste. For those of you living in or visiting Chicago, the place you will surely find this precious fluid is lizardsliquidlounge.com, the most eclectic and friendly neighborhood bar in the city. Of course the best days to drink it there would be any Tuesday and Wednesday between 4-8pm when I can pour it for you 🙂

5 Responses to “Daffenjäger”


  1. 1 John April 16, 2013 at 12:26 am

    I loved this post. You are a very good writer. We have to make point of visiting you at Lizards very soon!

  2. 3 Katherin April 16, 2013 at 12:55 am

    Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide credit and
    sources back to your webpage? My blog site is in the exact
    same niche as yours and my users would definitely benefit from a lot of the information you
    present here. Please let me know if this ok with you.
    Thanks a lot!

    • 4 theunmetfriend April 18, 2013 at 10:27 pm

      Hi Katherin,
      I tried to reply to you per email but it bounced back to me. Thanks for your message! Can you tell me a little about your blog and which of my posts are interesting to you? I tried to have a look at your blog but I don’t speak the language 😦 so couldn’t tell what it was about!
      Best,
      Felice

  3. 5 Una April 22, 2013 at 4:51 am

    Hi Felice, as always a lovely post. Am very happy that the daffodils bloomed so beautifully and raised fond memories. I now need to try barenjager!


Leave a Reply

