Passing up a Prince

 

Image

On todays short bike ride to the post office I passed a man who threw up his arms declaring “There she is! Where have you been all my life?” I looked at him as I whizzed by and thought about it. Well, I’ve been to 26 countries, married, divorced, back stage at Bowie concert, hit by a car, jumped from planes, on bicycles, on the back of a Harley, horse and camel, in Mini Cooper, on sail boats, trains, ferries, tents and clock towers. Drove a truck, drank beer with coal miners, whiskey with a hill tribe, wine while doing push ups with Frenchmen, danced wildly at punk bars,  picked olives, picked pears, delivered helium balloons while singing songs,  …well truthfully I’ve been a helluva lot of places doing a variety of things.

The man did not look like this:

Image

He didn’t have any flowers and he was dressed. He also didn’t look like this:

Image

Nor this:

Image

He did, however, look like the type of guy who would be seen snuggling up to a:

…..at 10:00A.M.  Wow. Lucky me. Nice to know I’m still turning some heads. Imagine my life if I had been there for all of his?

8 Responses to “Passing up a Prince”


  1. 1 Inga August 3, 2012 at 11:36 pm

    You forgot to mention l’ost in the Rain in Spain’, but I don’t think you are ever really lost, just misplaced at the most memorable moments ;-} Here’s to you and your many adventours!!

  2. 2 Inga August 3, 2012 at 11:37 pm

    Yes, I meant to say ‘adventours’.

  3. 4 Olga August 4, 2012 at 1:29 am

    My dad wants to know how you got the picture of him at the bar! BTW he’s not available.

  4. 5 Olga August 4, 2012 at 1:49 am

    kidding! my parents were over for dinner and I showed
    them your blog and they thought it was great! This post got ALOT of laughs!!!

  5. 7 Startare August 4, 2012 at 9:56 am

    Don’t be so pessimistic! haven’t you heard of princes pretending to be frogs? Maybe if you’d kissed him his true nature would have been revealed…
    but then again maybe his true nature was already visible!


Leave a Reply

