Gratitude: Another independence day story

Image

I received this postcard from Marta in New York City after writing my last post. On the same day I was having my lakefront Independence day experience she had drawn my name from postcrossing.com and sat down to write what falls into my top ten best messages on a card!

Marta wishes me a happy 4th of July and as she writes the fireworks are scaring her cat. She is was born and raised in Poland but moved to NYC 18 years ago. She loves New York and feels that living there is a dream.  On the way to work she passes the Statue of Liberty and can’t help but tell her “Good morning” each day. She jokes with her 12-year-old son about how different his life would be if he was born in communist Poland and she is happy to see that he appreciates his country as much as she loves her new homeland. She signs off expressing the profound effect that this day of independence has for her.

OMG. This filled me with complete happiness. Every time I tried to read it to friends my voice was wobbly, choking back tears! I love that almost every morning in NYC there is a woman who says good morning to Liberty and takes that time to be grateful. I wish I could shove that postcard in the face of every person that I hear complaining about those “damn immigrants” for the rest of my life. After all, at some point in our lineage we were all immigrants.

This is just another example of the power of a message from a stranger. Her expression of gratitude made me want to be grateful. Now I’m sending it out on the internet magic carpet ride to all of you who will read it. Let’s spread it, like a good virus so we can all be the person we ought to be.

4 Responses to “Gratitude: Another independence day story”


  1. 2 Olga July 16, 2012 at 10:13 pm

    and write on!!!

  2. 3 Una July 18, 2012 at 6:14 pm

    What a lovely story and a lovely tribute to July 4th.


Leave a Reply

