Still life with squirrel

The other day I got inspired to make a Collage postcard for another one of those “unmet friends” from  postcrossing.com . Tanya from Ukraine has a squirrel eating out of her hand in her profile picture and given my recent squirrel history it seemed like the right thing to do.

Autumn is my favorite season and while many Chicagoans are mourning the loss of summer with the impending doom of winter, I savor the moment. The city is brilliant in it’s red and gold decay.  Everyday, I’m on my bike with camera collecting leaves and images that might make it onto postcard. Mostly I am hunting for a house that show’s an example of local architecture combined with the seasons best decorations. Last year while riding though Lakeview I spied a porch with the best display of squash and pumpkins. As I got closer, I thought “Oh look! They even added that fake squirrel that’s perched on top, dead center.”  A little closer…. Holy shit, it’s the real thing! Omg.  Don’t move squirrel!  I took a million pictures while the thing was petrified and motionless.

I was so excited but then ultimately disappointed with the composition. The house in the background was distracting but I printed the picture with Collage intent. Because of Tanya, squirrel and squash were amputated from their front porch constraints and transported to the best dusk sky I’ve ever seen in Andersonville! And the huge looming bird? Don’t you worry. It is a Lovebird (if that counts for anything) and I think, it  thinks the squirrel is fake 🙂

2 Responses to “Still life with squirrel”


  1. 1 Inga March 22, 2012 at 11:07 pm

    Brilliant!! Love the ♥Bird. The twist at the end is comical. Smiley face is always welcomed.

  2. 2 Sara March 23, 2012 at 2:26 pm

    Love the composition and the smile it brought to my face!


Leave a Reply

