I love postcards!

In 1974, at age 15 I officially became a treasure hunter. My main interest was collecting vintage clothing, hats and jewelry from the 1930’s and 40’s. My mission was to look different than all the other high school clones. My quest: extreme coolness. I started as a lone hunter until I met Janet Berger.  She became my friend and kindred spirit in garage sales, flea markets and the exotic world of vintage clothing stores. Our collectible good karma magnetically attracted scores of 1940’s dresses, blazers and rhinestone jewels. We were scavengers of the under appreciated  and could deftly sniff out a beaded sweater in the sea of stale reeking garments at Amvets. At the time I was more consumed with the glitter and dazzle of alternative fashion to notice a pile of vintage postcards.

One day I scored a most unusual and down right gaudy shoe clip. It was shaped loosely triangular, sporting red and green curved beads that had the look of imitation short curly hairs. In a moment of adolescent brilliance, we called it “Liberace’s pubic hair”.  Years past and Janet moved to Colorado but we still had a special place in our hearts for Liberace.  Then in 1983 I received this card postmarked from Denver with the message:

“Dear Felice, This is a real 40’s card (not a punk shop replica)….”

Caption: Palm Springs, California

Home of Liberace

I did not know it but this was the beginning of postcard love.  We got 36 years worth of mileage out of that Liberace joke and even if it isn’t REALLY that funny to others, we will, no doubt,  be cackling about it when we’re crusty and old.

Then a few years later I received (again from Janet) this card from Paris:

Nothing says Paris more then a guy with a paint brush wearing a beret! It was 1988 and I had also begun my romance with this amazing city and it’s many antique markets. This is where the postcard really got my attention and besides the markets, great cards could also be found among the booksellers on the Seine. I started collecting ladies in crazy hats:

As beautiful as the image,  is the artful calligraphy on the flip side with ancient stamp plus postmark. These postcards are little pieces of time travel, a frozen moment in someone’s long gone life, immortalized. Beyond the people they are a historical reference for fashion, advertising and lost architecture. Although many contain messages with small talk about the weather on vacation, others tell stories or even show proof of  love.

These days I’ve lost interest in vintage clothing although my eye will occasionally get snagged on some sparkly jewels. On the other hand, my postcard obsession is alive and well in all it’s neck bending, chiropractic disastrous glory!

3 Responses to “I love postcards!”


  1. 1 Inga March 22, 2012 at 2:20 am

    I can see, hear and smell everything you write, my senses are awakened by your words.

  2. 2 Edie May 28, 2012 at 4:40 pm

    As I read, we traveled back in time together, where you colored in the blank spaces between my memories. Thank you!


Leave a Reply

